top of page
  • Writer's pictureKathryn van den Berg

Mechelen, Belgium

14 October 2022 - 17 October 2022



I arrived in Mechelen to drizzle which turned to a very steady downpour as we walked to Anja's house carrying my travel suitcase behind me. I didn't have a raincoat- who doesnt bring a raincoat to Belgium in Autumn?


I decided to stay with Koen and Anja- my aunty Jane's niece and her husband- for three nights over a long weekend during one of my study breaks. I have numerous of these breaks in the first period of my Master's course which, contrary to what one might think, left me rather lonely instead of rejoicing in free time. So I took matters into my own hands (something which often leads to travels, as you will discover as you read on) and phoned Anja intent on planning a short stay at her family house in Mechelen, Belgium. And what a wonderful break it was.


The three days were action-packed (literally) with their kids' birthday plans which included parties, trips to the Planckendael zoo where I saw Bison and other European animals for the first time, eating Madagascar and Bambie themed- caked and seeing the excitement on 3- and 7-year-old-faces as they rip the brightly-coloured wrapping off their many many birthday presents.


I really loved the architecture and the old buildings. Something I particularly took note of was that the city of Mechelen had put little flags up everywhere you walked in the centre so as you looked up, you saw flags depicting different scenes of the city. This was unique and beautiful- this was culture.


I went back to Maastricht after the short getaway feeling full of family energy and, I wont lie, slightly in pain from falling off Anja's bike and scraping my knee quite badly on the second day. How humiliating. I have a lot to learn about the European, especially Dutch, way of life.


I bought a raincoat by the way- I absolutely adore it and wear if often in Maastricht.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page