top of page
  • Writer's pictureKathryn van den Berg

Delft, Netherlands

19 November 2022


I am sitting in the CHCO Chocolate Company Cafe in Delft and am so grateful for the respite from the freezing cold outside. Besides having the best hot chocolate spoons that I fell in love with on my visit here with my Mom last year, this place is so warm!


Delft is (usually) one of my favourite places to visit in the Netherlands. I love the moss-covered architecture and the canals. It really is fairy-tale-like. I'm just really not used to the cold this weekend: it's currently 12:04 and a magical 1-degree outside.


I spent a couple of hours in the Vermeer Centrum Delft which was, if I'm being honest, slightly disappointing. The museum contained all the works Vermeer has ever done but none of them were originals- they were all reproducitions. Being here again reminds me of my Mom a lot. The last time I was here it was with her and it was as wonderful. I also reminisced as I walked past the Map of Delft which inspired me to write one of my favourite articles for the Dutch Review: 'A mosaic map colours life into Delft history'.

I'm staying with my cousin Kerry and her family in the Hague for the weekend and have been here since Thursday evening. It's nice to have some family time: I have been feeling pretty homesick and lonely lately and thought some familiar faces would do me some good.






8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page